Understanding Texas Drug Charges: Marijuana Possession

Jan 10, 2017 by

While a number of states in America are beginning to decriminalize or legalize marijuana use, there are many other states where mere possession of the drug could lead to serious penalties. In Texas, for example, marijuana possession is a criminal charge that can result to penalties requiring significant fees and even prison time. According to Nashville criminal defense attorney Brent Horst, penalties for possession charges are the less severe compared to those of other drug charges. However, being convicted of marijuana possession can have a profound effect on a person’s reputation.

The specific penalties for a marijuana possession will be decided on by the court following several factors. Texas courts might consider whether the individual has any previous convictions. The court will also consider the amount or marijuana that an individual is found to be carrying. Carrying 2 ounces of marijuana or less is considered a misdemeanor charge, often requiring up to $2,000 in fines and about 180 days in jail. Possessing 2 to 4 ounces of marijuana, another misdemeanor charge, is penalized with paying up to $4,000 in fines and a year of jail time.

Possession of marijuana in amounts larger than 4 ounces is considered a felony. Carrying up to 5 pounds or marijuana can lead to a sentence of 6 to 24 months in state jail with fines of about $10,000. Meanwhile, more than 5 to 50 pounds of marijuana can lead to 2 to 10 years of prison time with up to $10,000 fines. Carrying marijuana that amounts to more than 50 pounds can lead to a sentence of life imprisonment with up to $50,000 in fines.

With the help of an experienced lawyer, these penalties can be still be reduced following an individual’s specific circumstances. It might even be possible to avoid a conviction altogether. Seek out appropriate legal counsel to learn more.

Related Posts

Tags

Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *